i like to touch the tea

I am a reformed Starbucks addict.   When I lived in Tampa I had a serious problem, it was expensive and fatty.   Every day before my show I had to have a venti nonfat no whip mocha, and if I sucked it down before going on the air at 11 or 12 there would be a second mocha (usually tall) that day.   It became a little much, especially after they opened a Starbucks down the street from my office,  so I started to swap out the rich mocha for Tazo Tea…my personal fave, Passion (searing hot) and even a venti was under $2!!!!

Fast forward a few years and I’ve cut out the mochas completely, and stop into Starbucks a few times a month to get my hot passion fix to go.   I always keep a box of Tazo in my office.   I was confused a few weeks ago when I stopped at the Wolf Road Starbucks to get some Passion in a box and to go…the barista said they were out – weird – and kept talking about silkiness.   I was baffled.   Yesterday I wandered back to Starbucks and discovered a whole new look.  Instead of boxes, Tazo now packages their new full leaf teas in tins.   I was sad to see there was less product for more price (I believe 15 bags for $6.25)  but a very delicous tea.   

I actually picked up Refresh over Passion to switch it up a little bit, and I now see what the barista was talking about regarding silkiness.   I am not REALLY into tea, so I’m sure there’s an official name for it, but instead of tea bag it’s as if the leaves are held in a pantyhose -esque material, which I can’t stop touching!!   Anyone know what it’s called?

I love Tazo Teas at Starbucks, but I don’t understand the price jump considering the economy.  I guess I’ll just have to step down to a grande tea to stay under my $2 limit.

Comments

  1. Those are tea sachets. Have you ever tried the teas from Barnes and Noble? They sell Harney & Sons tea and it comes in those sachets but theirs are pyramid shaped. So good.

    The price jump is due to the tin and the sachets are more expensive than the paper tea bags (probably healthier though)

    Don’t mind me, I’m a bit of a tea nerd 🙂

  2. Yikes, that’a lot! I always just call ’em mesh bags.

    Too bad they don’t sell them in bulk, but I’m sure they’re way more profitable (for them) to sell them all cutesy.

    I’m also a fan of the passion tea – it’s really good, but for some reason it’s one I’ll only think to get when I’m out. Then again, I’ve got enough teas at home (total tea addict, here) creme brulee, coconut, genmai, rooibos… you get the drift.

Leave a Reply

