the 2011 to do

I spotted this survey on my friend Krystal’s blog and decided to give it a whirl to prepare for the new year!

One thing I will learn: Patience, I know I can’t take a class, but I must learn patience.

One place I will go: New York.  We live so close to the city and kiddo is dying to visit again, I just need to set a date and go.  Museum of Natural History here we come!!!

One physical habit I will break: Shopping.   I tend to wander to the store and buy a sweater, a pair of shoes, jewelry, more clothing for my little one. It’s almost a relaxing experience for me, but we have way too much stuff and the money really should be saved not spent.

One physical habit I will cultivate: Working out!!!   I really impressed myself in 2010 by not only joining a gym but going religiously.   A ridiculous injury (hurt my knee because I was using the elliptical wrong) kept me out the gym in November, and then I was too embarrassed to go back in December.  No more silly excuses, gym or home exercise at least 4 times per week, period.

One relationship I’ll repair: Family.   I need to focus more on my immediate family and less on friends and acquaintances.

One work habit I will change: paper management, my desk is in a constant state of disaster and it’s because I’m awful at managing paper.

One thing I’ll throw out: CLOTHING, and I won’t throw it out in the trash, it will be thrown out of my life and into a second hand or goodwill shop.  I need to stop shopping.

A second thing I’ll throw out: couches, we have three right now and our living room is so cluttered..gotta get rid of the unnecessary.

One thing I’ll eat more often: Dark fruits!

One thing I’ll eat less: takeout, we have Wings Over Albany on speed dial and while I love their ribs, my love handles need to go.

One thing I’ll drink more: Water.

One thing I’ll drink less: Coffee, attempting to replace it with herbal tea, it’s going to be tough.

One resentment I’ll get over: hmmmmm, this is a tough one.

One person I’ll treat more respectfully: My partner, he tends to be on the receiving end of my frustrations with work, family, I need to have a better filter and not have my mood be affected by things that aren’t in our little core.

One thing I’ll spend less money on: instant gratification items (food, itunes purchases, TARGET) need to think about long term when it comes to money.

One other change I’ll make in my finances: 529!!

One thing I’ll spend less time doing: complaining.  It gets me nowhere, it’s annoying, I’m a lucky, lucky girl, I need to stop the whining and back talking when things don’t go my way.

And a thing I’ll spend more time doing: more time with my little one!

 

Leave a Reply

