super mario is 25???

We recently acquired a Wii and it has the new/old Mario game, my kid and I love it!  He likes it because it’s a video game, I like it because he seems slightly impressed with my Mario skills.   I don’t mean to brag but I’ve beaten Super Mario 1, 2 AND 3.   I was a nerdy, shy kid growing up.

It was a really big deal when my brother and I got a Nintendo in the 80’s.   Well, really he had a Nintendo and if he wasn’t home I got to play Mario Bros.   MarioKart too!    I was surprised to see that Super Mario Bros. just celebrated it’s 25th anniversaary in 2010!  I remember when this was a relatively new cool video game!     Hearing that Super Mario Bros. hit the 2-5 led me to some other 1985 fun facts.

In 1985, Alec Baldwin was 27.   Weird, right?   When I see him as an attractive, slim, young actor I cannot fathom that he is now Jack Donaghy.

Back to the Future hit theaters…the original.

Justin Bieber’s mom was 9.

Mark Zuckerberg (Facebook creator) was 1.

Calvin & Hobbes was created.

The BEST stunt ever from David Letterman on the Today Show!

Leave a Reply

