basil bailout

Spaghetti and Turkey-balls were on the menu last night (turkey-balls sounds so wrong doesn’t it?)  I forgot to pick up fresh basil on my food shopping day so I ducked into Hannaford to grab a little, except a little didn’t exist.   Somehow this was branded the “value-size” fresh basil:

I see no value in waaaaay too much, I usually buy a 1/4 of this once every month but it was the only fresh basil they had so I grabbed it.   It was $3.99, I used maybe an 1/8th of this in my recipe last night.   I hate hate hate when herbs are wasted or go bad so I’m calling on any lurkers with cooking skills.  I’ve got a big ass bag of basil to use by….Friday?  I’m guessing that’s when it’ll take a turn for stank.  Do you have any great recipes that I can use fresh basil in?   I’m a novice cooker but I’ll try anything, and manfriend is actually a genius in the kitchen so if I get stuck he can usually guide me back to the correct path.   Pretty please?

The only requirement is that the recipe can’t involve tree nuts (kiddo and his dad are allergic.)  But if it’s a dealbreaker in the recipe I just won’t share with them. 🙂

Comments

  1. Pesto is basically a preservation method for basil.

    I use pistachio instead of pine nut, not sure if that would work…

    You can cut out the nuts altogether and throw in whatever, there’s a rich history of various Italian regions having their own pesto beyond pesto alla genovese.

  2. Basil, olive oil if it’s handy, Parmesan cheese and a handful of artichoke hearts. Put in blender and blend the heck out of it til it’s smooth.

    Or put it in the food processor with a bit of olive oil and freeze it. It has to be chopped well and put in airtight container but it freezes well.

Leave a Reply

