i don’t usually do this kind of thing

Manfriend and I decided to have a Saturday lunch date with our mini me in tow.   FYI Koto has mozzy sticks if you have a short person to keep happy while you chow down on Koto awesomeness.   Manfriend went for a typical steak dinner.   I went for a salmon teryiaki bento box.   We were both craving raw oysters but our server said it would be pretty awesome of us to try out uni (or ooni..I can’t remember.)

What you see above is Uni.   What is UNI?  Well via a google search:

Uni (oo-nee) is the Japanese name for the edible part of the Sea Urchin. While colloquially referred to as the roe (eggs), uni is actually the animal’s gonads (which produce the milt or roe). Uni ranges in color from rich gold to light yellow, and has a creamy consistency that some love and is off-putting to others

Yup.   I ate gonads.   Meh.  The funny thing is uni tasted NOTHING like raw oysters and was actually a little more expensive.   It wasn’t awful, it just wasn’t my fave.

 

Have you ever tried uni or another adventurous dish?

Comments

  1. Love uni. BUT. There is good uni, and bad uni, and not much in between. If you don’t get really good uni, there’s not much reason to eat it. I don’t know if you got a bad example, but really, give it another shot sometime and see if it’s any different.

  2. ashallann says:

    B, good to know! This definitely makes me motivated to give it another shot. Know of any good places to try it out again?

  3. I’ve had really hit or miss experiences locally, unfortunately. Even at the same spot, it could be good one day and blah another. But I’ve had good experiences at Sushi Tei, that I can recall.

  4. If you’re ever in Sicily or Croatia, try sea urchin again. I think you’ll change your opinion…

Leave a Reply

