what to wear

Manfriend and I were invited to a gala this weekend by a college friend.   I’m so excited to spend time with some of my old college roomies and get dressed up.  I’m a dj so dressy affairs for me tend to be funky outfits but I don’t have many ballgowns.

The dress for the evening is black tie optional so manfriend is all set with one of his suits (although he was explaining to me why he couldn’t wear pinstripes to a saturday evening event, apparently dudes have reasons for dress too :).) but I’m trying to figure out what I should wear.   2 of my friends are wearing longer dresses (but not ballgowns) and 1 friend is is wearing a knee length dress.   These are the two I’m considering..they’re cocktail dresses.

This black and white dress (on the right) hits me at the knee.  It’s cotton but doesn’t look like it’s cotton.  It’s super comfy but also slightly different.

There’s some ruching detail on the top that the above picture doesn’t do justice:

The other option I’m considering from my closet is a bit more risky and will require my pale butt to get a spray tan:

Super fun sequins that I purchased a few years ago and just haven’t found the right place to wear.   It hits just above the knee.    These are BIG sequins:

These are the shoes i’m considering wearing with either dress.  LOVE a sequined platform pump!

I would LOVE LOVE LOVE your thoughts on either of these dresses.  If you think they’re not dressy enough for the event I’m always looking for a reason to shop!!!

Comments

  1. Wear the sparkly one!!!!! I’ll bring my shades…

Trackbacks

  1. […]   Looking forward to our company holiday party this evening.   I’m excited to break out the little black sequin dress and shoes and have a nice night with manfriend.   Work will definitely be tricky, it’s going to be one […]

Leave a Reply

