baby steps

One foot in front of the other….just one foot in front of the other.

Seriously daily marathoners, how do you do it?   I decided to attempt to introduce running into my workout routine because if I step on an elliptical one more time I think I’ll scream.   I haven’t been a decent runner in years.    A trolley track incident sidelined my wanna be running days (a mile once a week–hardly a workout) when I lived in Florida.   My knees suck, but I figured if I didn’t try to jump back on the running bandwagon NOW I never would.    I just want to run a mile a day.   I know that seems like a breeze, but for me and my bum knee it’s a treacherous 11 minutes.   Yes, 11 minutes, I know that’s embarrassing.

I’m just treadmilling it right now, but hope to hit the road once the snow melts…it will melt right?   I need tips running friends.   I know you exist.   I see you posting your epic jogging  journeys all over facebook and twitter.     Should I eat before I run ?   I’m afraid I’ll puke.    Should I be sprinting through my mile?  Should I do intervals of normal to sprint?   Do I look weird when I run?   Right now I’m just trying to put one foot in front of the other and hope that I make it a mile.

 

Comments

  1. ndkelly29 says:

    I don’t consider myself a “real” runner yet, mainly because I don’t enjoy it that much and am pretty slow. But in the last year, I went from never running to running my first 5k, 15k and half marathon. I try to run 3-4 times a week and try to keep track of my progress on the website dailymile (I have been slacking there).

    I would recommend that you do at least one day of interval training. So for your mile, maybe break it up by .25 or .10 and then alternate sprinting and recovering for that set distance. I don’t eat anything before I run when I run in the mornings. Sometimes I have coffee. During the winter I run on the treadmill, but starting in April I will be running outside (I like the Mohawk-Hudon bike path).

    The key thing I have found is that I have to be consistent – having running partners has helped and so has having a goal in mind. I found running plans online that helped me figure out how far out I need to start training and gives me guidelines for distances each week. I don’t ever care about the time. If you can sprint your mile, that’s great but if you can’t you’ll work up to it. I have to try to remember that it is supposed to be fun and good for you.

    Another helpful tool has been the running blog on timesunion. In fact, the comments on the latest post have good tips from “real” runners for beginners. That is here: http://blog.timesunion.com/running/advice-for-new-runners/5626/

    Sorry for such a incredibly long comment!

  2. ashallann says:

    I’m sure you are definitely a real runner! Congrats on the races and thank you so much for the tips, I hope I can reach half the successes you’ve achieved!!

Leave a Reply

