change

I’ve had a really hard time accepting change over the last few years.  Despite adjusting many aspects of my life, I assumed everything and everyone around me would stay the same.   As I approach 29 for the third time 🙂 I’m finally starting to accept change.  It’s not always roses, but it’s reality.

I never thought I would take the loss of communication with friends so hard and so personally.   I never realized how people you once held so  close can become strangers in less than a year.   I can’t believe I was so naive to think that things would stay the same.   I know “things” is such a generic term, but I’m referring to everything from friends to work to health to family…life really.

Did you ever have a hard time accepting change?

I take comfort in a prayer that my mother would often turn to while raising two teenagers (my brother and I are just shy of a year apart) and dealing with the ups and downs of life.   I would roll my eyes when she would stop mid-screaming match with us to recite:

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

I wish I had taken the time to ask her WHY she was saying the serenity prayer instead of judging.  I suppose a change in me allows for this reflection.

Leave a Reply

