friend makin’ monday: grocery store

FMM:  THE GROCERY STORE

1. Do you make a list when you go grocery shopping? Do you stick to it?  If I have time I’ll make a list, usually it’s a mishmash of texts, half finished notes on my iPhone and recipes I want to try (so I can pull the right ingredients.)

2. Do you buy more groceries when you’re hungry?   I used to be awful about this.   If I shopped when I was hungry my cart would be packed with tortilla chips, chocolate items, ice cream.   I almost always make sure to eat before I shop now.

3. Coupons. Use ’em?   Never, which is just stupid.   I don’t even use my ExtraCare savings I get at CVS.  Must start clipping and using!
4. Have you ever complained to the manager of your grocery store?  I complained once when I fell in an aisle that was soaking wet, they gave me coupons.

5. Do you like to buy groceries at huge chain stores like Wal-Mart and Target? Or do you shop exclusively at food stores?  I’ve shopped a few times at the Wal-Mart in my area that carries groceries…it was ok.   I haven’t shopped at the Target that stocks groceries yet but will most likely try it out soon.   I usually stick to the Hannaford chains in my area, but I enjoy Price Chopper as well.

6. How much time do you spend reading labels in the grocery store?  Reading labels is what sucks up my time at the store.   If I’m buying a product for the first time I want to know what’s in it especially if it’s something I’m going to feed my kid.

7. Do you push your own grocery cart to the car and return it?  Yup, I’m a solo pusher!  I always put my cart back and will usually grab a few strays in the lot.  I love pushing a cart that someone has JUST abandoned, I give a big smile as they get in their car and I put it away.   Petty…yes, but perhaps they’ll remember to put it back next time.   Sadly these had no hope:



8. What is the one food item you always buy at the grocery store that you must have in the kitchen? Baby spinach, bananas, yogurt and milk.
9. Do you enjoy grocery shopping? Lately, no.   It reminds me that I don’t have enough time to prepare the meals I really want to for my family.

10. How often do you shop for groceries? We try to only go once a week so we prepare our week ahead on a Saturday or Sunday.

Leave a Reply

