a royal tea party

I get it, there are some people who area already over the royal wedding.   I’m not one of them, I think it’s romantic and exciting.   I love weddings.   If I’d been more than a drooling baby when the last big royal wedding happened I’m sure that I would’ve been glued to the tv.   Actually, I’m going to check with my mom and see if I was.   I’m definitely getting up early tomorrow to watch the festivities and I think (if I can double up on workouts today) I’ll have a little tea party by myself.  I’ll invite manfriend and kiddo to join in but I’m confident they’ll just roll their eyes.

I think I might borrow my late grandmother’s tea service from my parent’s, although I’ll only need one cup:

Checking out a few etiquette sites it’s so interesting to see the different types of tea parties.   Afternoon tea or high tea.   How about 5am tea, what’s that?   A few sites recommend Earl Grey tea and saucers of sugar lumps and milk.   I think I’ll just have some lemon, but never serve wedges, they should be slices (I don’t know what this means, lol.)

It’s doubtful I’ll be craving cucumber sandwiches or quiche at 5am, but I might want a scone!   I found this great Hungry Girl Blueberry recipe:

Ingredients:

2/3 cup uncooked oatmeal (not instant)

1/3 cup Bisquick Heart Smart Baking Mix

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tbsp. brown sugar

2 tsp. Smart Balance 37% Light Buttery Spread

1/3 cup light vanilla soymilk

3/4 cup blueberries

Directions:

Set oven to 400 degrees. Mix first 6 ingredients in a bowl. Fold in berries. Spray baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray and form 4 mounds of batter on sheet (leave room in between ’em — they expand!). Bake for 10 minutes. Makes 4 large scones.

I’m excited for my little tea party to celebrate in the morning!   So, will you be checking out the wedding or avoiding tv tomorrow?

*scone photo via Hungry-Girl

Leave a Reply

