dragging ass

ugggggh.    I hate insomnia so mf’ing much!!!!!    Lately my problem isn’t falling asleep, it’s staying asleep.  I woke up at 4am after falling asleep at midnight and I am beyond exhausted.   Suck it insomnia.   I’ve already had 2 cups of coffee and I’m still sleepy.   I’m totally wearing my cranky pants today, which sucks because today’s my birthday !  I love birthdays, I’m so grateful for another day and another year with my family.   But I’m still sleepy, and a little cranky.  Meh.

When I was taking the trash out this morning I noticed that the lilacs haven’t bloomed yet.   Lilacs are almost always fully bloomed on my birthday but our roller coaster weather must have messed up their clock.  Anyway I bring up the lilacs because they got me thinking about birthday memories.   I’m grateful for EVERY birthday but there are a few that stick out:

5th birthday.   I had chicken pox.   If I remember correctly I think my parents still had my birthday party for my friends but I obviously couldn’t go.

8th birthday.   I remember being so excited about bringing in pink frosted cupcakes to school with a red m&m on top and having my first sleepover party.

16th birthday.   I got my permit and a stereo

25th birthday.  I went to Disneyworld for the first time for a broadcast.  It was amazing and I got to bring kiddo.

28th birthday.   I was told my position was being eliminated (shout out Ryan Seacrest!)

My birthdays are always lovely, those were some of the memories that flew back when I was looking at the yet to bloom lilacs.   What are some of your birthday memories?

lilac photo via Michael Weishan

Comments

  1. Well birthday 28 doesn’t sound too great but hopefully this one is much much better! Have a great day!

Trackbacks

  1. […] past weekend was the fastest weekend ever.   Friday was my birthday, despite starting the day in a crappy mood I rebounded and had a great birthday with my family and friends.   After work my family had a […]

Leave a Reply

