strawberry muffins

After our massive strawberry haul over the weekend I’ve been trying to find recipes to use them up!   We did strawberry shortcake. I’m freezing some for some use I haven’t even thought about yet.   I’m pretty sure I’ll attempt a jam or jelly or something involving mashing strawberries.   Next up, strawberry cinnamon muffins!   Let’s be honest, we don’t hear about strawberry muffins often, do we?   There’s a reason for that, we’ll revisit that thought in just a moment.

The needs/recipe  for strawberry cinnamon muffins is relatively simple:

Ingredients

– 2 eggs
– 2/3 cup sugar
– 1/2 cup milk
– 1/4 cup plain yogurt
– 1 teaspoon vanilla
– 1/2 stick butter, melted and cooled
– 2 cups flour
– 1 tablespoon baking powder
– 1/4 teaspoon salt
– 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
– 1 1/2 cups strawberries, hulled and cut in chunks

Directions

Preheat oven to 375°F/200°C. Grease muffin tins or line with paper cups.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together eggs and sugar until light. Add milk, yogurt, vanilla, and melted butter. Gently whisk.

In another bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Add to milk mixture and stir just until flour disappears. Gently stir in berries.

Spoon thick batter into muffin cups to the top. Bake about 25 minutes, until tster comes out clean. Invert and cool on rack.

I was so excited for these puppies, and I was left pretty underwhelmed when I finally pulled them out of the oven:

Not only did my muffins look depressed (I should’ve filled the batter to the top of the baking cups) they were soggy inside!  It took forever for them to bake and even when they were “done” they still seemed wet inside !    I’m assuming that the moisture held in the strawberry contributed to the damp insides of this strawberry muffin (doesn’t this post sound dirty??)    After letting them harden on their own overnight they were edible, and even tasty, but I was still disappointed.

Have you ever tried to bake with strawberries before?  Any tips?   Ever had a soggy muffin or an underwhelming baking experience (c’mon I know you’ve had at least one!)

Better luck next time!   If you have a great strawberry recipe let me know, I’ll definitely try it this week!!

Leave a Reply

