headphone makeover !

I think I’ve established that my everyday job is in radio.   If you’re going to be a dj there are two things you must bring to work each day, 1) your voice 2) your headphones.    Headphones are a necessity for radio peeps so we can hear what we’re saying when we turn on the microphone, it also helps drown out unwanted people in your studio 🙂 .

I fell in love with the headphones I swear by about 3 years ago, they’re Panasonics, I LOOOOOVE them.  I’m sure some hardcore radio folks would say they sound sucky or it’s wrong to wear them, well suck it, I like ’em!

A few weeks ago I found a pair of crystal headphones that I was lusting after, sadly they are $530, I would never spend that much.   Cute Ella made the suggestion to bling my own.   So I did!

I have an extra pair that I use at my desk for editing audio or listening to Justin Bieber Britney Spears  Lou Bega important things.

I thought it would be a fun experiment to attempt to cover them in crystals so I stopped in at Michael’s and purchased a few packets of stick on crystals ($2.49 a package)

I tried to start sticking the crystals in a very specific way:

But after gem number 1 it sort of took on a life of it’s own:

Kinda looks like a disco ball, right?  JUST what I was going for!!!

I was pretty happy with the final product.   I thought they looked decent, considering I put the gems on !

I can smile in ’em:


I I can scream in ’em !

I’m excited about the gemmed up headphones, but what do you think?   Do you have something at work that you do/use that you put your own special mark on?

Comments

  1. LOVE THEM!!!

  2. Nicely done! They look so awesome!

  3. hahahha love the scream. These are great, what kind of glue did you use?

  4. rollerjackie says:

    fabulous, can you make them in pink?

Trackbacks

  1. […] I get into “things”. Making necklaces, mandalas, and now I like to tacky up a pair of headphones. Last week I experimented sparkling out a pair of my headphones: […]

  2. […] ones.)   What about a little design, a splash of color, maybe some sparkles?   Perhaps crystalizing a rake will be my next project, I haven’t sparkled anything up in a bit.    Many ideas to […]

  3. […] all started innocently enough.   I decided to sparkle some headphones.   I’m a dj, I use them everyday, I like sparkle, what’s the harm […]

  4. […] the latter are intended for small children, but why should they get all the fun?]! Or go DIY with this helpful guide to pimping out a plain pair of headphones with stick-on gems! For the less ostentatious and the […]

Leave a Reply

