i’ve been in the kitchen

It’s actually been a lot of fun.    My little jump into the world of vegan cooking last week got me on a bit of a roll.  I’m not saying I’m a vegan or will ever become one, but I’ve been kind of   eating like one for the last week and a half.   I say kind of because I’m sure not all of the recipes I used are 100% vegan, but I’ve eliminated animal products (meat, dairy, eggs) and it’s not nearly as awful or difficult as I would’ve thought.  I’ve been heavy on the salads, tons of fresh veggies, fruits, nuts and beans.   I like to cook something at night and I’ve come across a lot of really easy and delicious recipes. Some notable faves:

Herb Roasted Winter Veggies (although I only used sweet potatoes, carrots, green peppers, and cauliflower with rosemary and thyme) over brown rice.

Lemon Mint Pasta (I subbed whole wheat spaghetti for whole wheat farfalle.)   Tasted even better with extra kale and tomatoes today at lunch:

My absolute favorite recipe so far would have to be the roasted chickpea, edamame and mint salad (no feta.)   Man this was delicious, the chickpeas and the mint and the cranberries and the lemon, it was seriously flavor explosion.  I want to bring this to Thanksgiving dinner but I know my family would hate it:


I even found a  debatable vegan hot chocolate recipe, debatable because sugar and salt are in it, but whatevs.   Never would’ve guessed cayenne pepper would work in hot chocolate but it does!   I scored found this gem, soy whipped cream!


I don’t know how long my little experiment will last, I was only going to eat like this for a week, but then I stumbled across this documentary, Forks over Knives, on Netflix.   It scared the crap out of me:

If you have Netflix instant I definitely suggest you check it out.

Comments

  1. Thanks for the recipes! Our family has been trying to eat more vegan meals as well, however, finding dishes that our toddlers will eat has been a challenge. Another product you may want to try is Mimiccreme (www.mimiccreme.com). It’s basically a recipe-ready, non-dairy cream/milk substitute. They also do coffee creamers & Healthy Top which you can whip. (Bonus — they are manufactured by Green Rabbit which is Albany-based!)

    • Julie I’m still working to find a recipe that my son will love, hoping I find the perfect combo soon! Thanks for the info on Mimiccreme, will definitely look for this, love that it’s local!

Trackbacks

  1. […] same way with my food.  If I find something I like I abuse it.   I have been dreaming about the roast chickpea and edamame dinner I made last week, so I decided to do it up again with a few modifications.   No mint, and I […]

  2. […] I switched my eating habits last month I’m always in the kitchen. Im certainly not a vegan, but I’m eating like one ! One of my […]

  3. […] not a vegan, I’m just trying to eat like one. When I started this experiment I quickly learned I would have to prepare pretty much everything myself. That’s fine, […]

  4. […] last year I started, what I call, the vegan experiment.  I thought I did pretty well.   I learned tons of new recipes, and really  felt better, then […]

  5. […] 6 months ago I was all, let me try this vegan experiment thing.   Then about 6 weeks ago I hit  I hit a wall  and decided to suspend it.   Then about 6 days […]

  6. […] don’t understand eggplant.   The few times I tried eggplant recipes, when I began the vegan experiment,  ended up being complete fails, but I was determined to find a way to make an eggplant appealing. […]

Leave a Reply

