20 years? no way!

Manfriend and I were watching something on AMC the other night and a promo came on announcing a celebration of the “20th anniversary of The Addams Family.”

Our reactions went like this:

“Wait, did he just say 20th anniversary? ”

“He’s gotta be talking about the original tv show right?  Not the movie, whoa he he is talking about the movie.”

WTF?

I wanted to believe that it was a mistake, but I did the math in my head quickly, yup, 20 years.   If you’re a child of the 80’s like me, I think we automatically assume things were from the 70’s or 80’s when we hear about movies or shows or events from 20 years ago.   Nope, we’re on the 90’s now.

Some other fun mindf*cky stuff from 1991

Beauty and the Beast (so Belle is now in her forties?)

Silence of the Lambs (still creeps me out)

I can’t say the bad music from 1991 shocks me with its age.  The 5 biggest songs in 1991 (I’m thankful I don’t know most of them)

1. (Everything I Do) I Do It for You, Bryan Adams
2. I Wanna Sex You Up, Color Me Badd
3. Gonna Make You Sweat, C+C Music Factory
4. Rush, Rush, Paula Abdul
5. One More Try, Timmy T

That also means that 90210 is not 20, but 21 years old.



20 years, wow.

Leave a Reply

