i heart food

Kiddo and I went to see The Muppet Movie at Crossgates over the weekend. It was fantastic ! Because we were at Crossgates we had the chance to eat at Fresh Healthy Cafe.   Love that place ! I devoured the extreme veggie wrap (no cheese, olives, or vinagrette)

20111207-110754.jpg

Kiddo enjoyed a grilled cheese and strawberry banana smoothie

20111207-110954.jpg

If you’ve never been you’ve gotta check it out. Lower level, Crossgates Mall outside of Dicks.

Since I switched my eating habits last month I’m always in the kitchen. Im certainly not a vegan, but I’m eating like one ! One of my favorite veggies to use is kale. It’s so versatile.  I eat it fresh, with pasta, in soups. I made a great dish the other night using kale, portobello mushrooms and tomatoes. (the recipe at the link doesn’t include kale, but I threw it in, no cheese though.)  Not pretty, but delicious !

20111207-112248.jpg

Manfriend has even fallen for kale. He’s been very patient with my vegan dishes, he’ll use them as side dishes. Here was his creation with kale, he included bangers from Oscar’s

20111207-112421.jpg

Oh and I made a version of tom yum soup last night. Amazing. I added in some broccoli rabe. Great taste and not too too hot. Just enough kick.

20111207-112607.jpg

I’m no foodie, but I love trying new things !

Comments

  1. Mmm all of those kale dishes sound so good! Every time we try to make it, it kinda tastes like crap but I’m willing to give it another try!!

    hey and thanks for your comment on my post! I am definitely daydreaming about my mattrress now, that thing is the best! lol

    • ashallann says:

      Thanks! I’m far from a kale expert, but we usually cook it with garlic, not sure if that will help! I was a bad Google Reader user for awhile so I’ve been catching up on all my favorite blogs!

  2. Presently what did you say? I considered necessary! Maybe to facilitate bidding transpire my inspiration on behalf of the week, keep it emergence!

Trackbacks

  1. […] had finished off the rest of my tom yum soup for lunch yesterday. By the time I got home I wasn’t in the mood for a big dinner, just […]

Leave a Reply

