holiday survival pack

When you’re a genius like me and decide to start your shopping 5 days before Christmas,  the week turns into a bit of a blur.   It’s manageable, but blurry.   Shopping and wrapping don’t stress me out.   It’s the crazy rush that starts on the 21st or so.  I love all of it, but here’s what I need to stay sane during the holidays.

1. Gift Cards.

Even though I’ll go over my shopping list ten times, I always forget someone –or– someone I wasn’t expecting a gift from will hit me with a gift.   Gift cards keep me prepared, and if they go unused, odds are good I can gift them to someone else down the line.

2. Cookies

My cookies look just like this too.   Christmas cookies are a necessity for family parties, neighbor gifts and more.   My dining room table often looks like it’s been consumed by cookie tins this time of year.

3.  Krause’s Candy


This is a 518 specific requirement, but I can’t get through Christmas without Krause’s.   Their gift boxes make the perfect gift for teachers and co-workers.   It’s crazy in there this time of year, but if I’m going to be in a crazy store I’d definitely prefer it be filled with chocolate.

4.  Gift Bags

The back of my truck turns into a mobile gift wrapping station this week.   I buy, I wrap, I deliver (or hide.)   I actually love wrapping gifts, but there’s nothing easier than a gift bag, especially when you’re dealing with an annoying hexagon shaped box or something ridiculous.

5. Batteries

I buy a ridiculous amount of batteries before Christmas hits.   I actually get this 40 pack available at CVS, it has every battery you could ever use for like $20 – steal.   Between battery powered toys kiddo will probably receive and stuff that we don’t even realize needs batteries, this is a lifesaver.

6.  School Pictures and Frames

I send kiddo’s school picture out with Christmas cards (wallet sized.)  But a few family members have asked for larger versions (awwww) so I make sure to stock up on frames for when I hand over the school pic.

7. Change of Clothes

In addition to the mobile gift wrapping station in the back of my truck, I’ll also have a mobile closet.   We’re invited to a lot of parties and family events and you can arrive in a dress and suddenly be on a muddy hike, it’s just easier to keep tons of clothes at the ready.

8. Lip Serum

Obsessed with Be Fine’s Lip Serum.  I first discovered this gem in a birchbox over the summer, but this is the perfect holiday rush gloss.  Keeps your lips moisturized, shiny, and you won’t need to worry about leaving lipstick stains behind on glasses!

9.   Nerf Blasters

Because these are just fun for all the kids in the family, and at some point the adults grab them too.   Just keep a couple tucked away for when kids might start to get a little restless.

10.   Wine

Great for gift giving, or enjoying a glass when you get home from the holiday cheer!

Do you have any necessities to get through the holidays?

Comments

  1. I saw that battery pack the other day at CVS but didn’t know if it was too expensive. Will definitely need to consider the NERF guns for my crazy family

Leave a Reply

