to be honest..

Late last year I started, what I call, the vegan experiment.  I thought I did pretty well.   I learned tons of new recipes, and really  felt better, then March came and exhaustion set in.   I upped my vitamins, I upped my protein rich veggies and beans, but I needed more, so I reintroduced eggs and some fish into my diet.  I felt better.  I’ve had a few tangos with meat,(chicken, pork) but I’ve always felt meh after.   I still want to head back to a vegan diet later this summer but for now I wanted to listen to my body.   Just thought I’d give a little heads up, you’ll understand when you see the recipe below.

I also needed to listen to my wallet, and when an 8 pound spiral ham showed up in my kitchen on Saturday I knew I couldn’t waste it.   8 pounds of ham.  Jeesh.   So the first night was just a ham meal.   Last night I used leftovers to create, what I think is, THE GREATEST QUICHE EVER!!!!!   My mom’s been using this recipe forever, and it always comes out perfectly.  Bonus, it’s stupid easy.

HAM & SPINACH QUICHE (NO CRUST)

1c chopped ham

1/2c fresh spinach

1/2c shredded cheese

1/4c chopped onion

1c milk

1/2c Bisquick

2 eggs

1/4 tsp pepper

Directions

Heat oven to 400 degrees

Grease pie plate (8″ round)

Mix fillings, onions and cheese in pie plate

Beat remaining ingredients until smooth and pour over fillings in pie plate

Mix again

Bake 40 minutes (it will be finished when you stick a knife or fork into quiche and silverware comes out clean)

Serves 4

Approximate Calories per serving: 215

Soooo good.  I switched up a few things.  I increased the amount of ham and spinach and added an extra egg because I didn’t have an 8″ round pie plate.  I also used green onions.  Still came out pretty well!

I love that my glass dish looks disgusting straight outta the oven.  I swear it was clean when it went in!!
Comments

  1. I’m a vegetarian…but how many times does an 8 lb ham show up in your kitchen? It would have been completely irresponsible to have donated it to a neighbor…after all it was obviously meant for you…such is fate. I had a similiar experience when I was at a party and those little weinies wrapped in dough and soaked in BBQ sauce showed up on my plate as I went through the buffet line…what was I to do?…damn they were good. lol

    Be encouraged!

Trackbacks

  1. […] 6 months ago I was all, let me try this vegan experiment thing.   Then about 6 weeks ago I hit  I hit a wall  and decided to suspend it.   Then about 6 days ago I realized I felt like crap and missed eating […]

Leave a Reply

