tulips & toes

Saturday was absolutely beautiful in upstate New York.   70’s, sun shining, a light breeze, we’ve had snow in late April before so I do not take this weather for granted.   I had read an article in the Times Union that because of our fab weather, the tulips for Tulip Festival may actually be dead by May and that peak viewing time was now.  Boom, there was our reason to head to Washington Park, it did not disappoint.

I found the perfect lounging spot while kiddo played

The tulips were breathtaking.

And I got to reflect about the Moses statue.  Kiddo saw the water and immediately asked if he could jump in, I responded with a NO, but that was a bit hypocritical…


Growing up in Albany I spent a lot of time in the park.  Even pre-high school.   My brother and I went to a ton of different after care and summer camp programs over the years and they would walk us all over Albany.   That’s right, walk…we only got to take a bus if it was raining and that was a maybe.   Anyway, I remember when I went to one camp downtown, we would spend every day in the park.  We always migrated towards the Moses statue and we would always jump in the water, I don’t remember checking to see if a dog was peeing in it first, I doubt that would have deterred us.    We would then climb to the top, try to find ways inside the monument, hang off it.  Not only were we disrespectful, it was just plain unsafe, but a ridiculous amount of fun.   Won’t share those stories with kiddo just yet.

Comments

  1. I have enjoyed immensely reading your blog. As a writer I know you will understand if I am absent from making comments for a couple of months. I have two books I’m writing and the push is on to get them finished…so with only 24 hours in the day, I am going to continue to read and like, but my comments will be limited to replies for those who comment on my blog…thanks for the grace.

    Be encouraged!

Leave a Reply

