simple spring pasta

I’m feeling under the weather, stomach problems, JOY!   I lost 4 pounds in a day, so…yea.    When I’m tummy sick I have to trick my body into accepting foods.   It usually involves carbs, so I decided to break out a very simple spring pasta and asparagus recipe.    I was hoping this fresh asparagus would act as a veggie superhero and make me feel amazing.

This recipe is the easiest thing in the world.   I don’t remember where I found it, it was one that I had written up in one of my recipe books and I modified it to be veg friendly.   I will say that if you aren’t veggie or vegan making this with the original ingredients (chicken broth and pecorino cheese) is delicious!  Maybe even throw some bacon on there too?

ASPARAGUS & PENNE PASTA

  • 8 ounces uncooked penne pasta
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 pound of fresh asparagus (sliced in 1 inch pieces)
  • 1 cup fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth (I subbed with 1 cup organic vegetable broth)
  • 1 tablespoon grated lemon rind
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/4 cup (1 ounce) grated fresh pecorino Romano cheese (I skipped the cheese)
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons shaved fresh pecorino Romano cheese (I skipped this cheese too)

PREPARE

  1. Cook pasta in boiling water with 1 tablespoon kosher salt according to package directions, omitting additional fat. Drain.
  2. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add oil to pan, swirling to coat.
  3. Add asparagus to pan; cook 3 minutes or until crisp-tender, stirring occasionally. Remove from pan; keep warm.
  4. Add broth, lemon rind, and garlic to pan; cook until liquid is reduced to 1/2 cup (about 6 minutes). Return asparagus to pan.
  5. Add pasta, grated cheese, salt, and pepper; toss well. Place about 1 1/4 cups pasta mixture in each of 4 shallow bowls; top each serving with 1 1/2 teaspoons shaved cheese.
While making this, the lemon rind really perked me up.    Nature’s created all sorts of little pick me ups
It’s a perfect tasty pasta, great to make in the spring or summer!
Comments

  1. kpadhnan says:

    nice..

Leave a Reply

