meryl, stanley, julia and autotune

Julie & Julia (the story of a woman trying to complete Julia Child’s “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” intertwined with the story of Julia Child) was on the other day and I had to watch.   I’m a sucker for a Meryl Streep and Stanley Tucci moment:

I just love watching these two do anything together.   I believe the only other movie where they’ve shared the screen was The Devil Wears Prada (another fave.)

I digress, Julie & Julia got me curious about Julia Child.   Short of watching my mom watch some of her shows on PBS when I was younger I didn’t know a lot about her so I went on a wikipedia binge and discovered so much about this lovely woman.    One fact stuck out to me, she didn’t really learn how to cook until she was 37.   For some reason I found this fascinating.   All the Julia research also reminded me of this adorable little video I stumbled upon earlier this month in honor of what would’ve been her 100th birthday.   Julia Child autotuned.  This isn’t a parody, it’s quite lovely:

Also I grasp the irony of my fascination with Julia Child when, from time to time, I’m in the midst of the vegan experiment. She had such a love for what she did, and I find that heartwarming.

Leave a Reply

