surplus

I overslept yesterday.   Well I thought I overslept so in a moment of panic I rushed to my “oh shit I overslept,” section of my closet.   Every girl has one.   I threw together this fab ensemble (jeans, oversized sunglasses, big scarf, t-shirt):

It’s not amazing, but it’s the pieces that make you feel 40% human when you have to go from fast asleep to runrunrun in 30 seconds.    Anyway, joke was on me. my meeting wasn’t till next week.   My poor planning and comfy clothing meant there was only one logical solution to salvage the morning: apple picking.

Upstate New York is a treasure trove of orchards but I believe it’s a tough fall for apple picking because we had a very early spring and we just time warped into chilly fall days from 3 months of record breaking heat.    Normally I’d wait till the end of September or early October to pick but didn’t want to miss out.

We ran over to Indian Ladder Farms, it’s absolutely breathtaking there

(just let me filter this pic through instagram and we’ve got an I LOVE NY ad on our hands.)

There were a few types available (Macoun and JonaGolds) and because we arrived early enough we had the picking section almost all to ourselves.   Not a bad haul for $9:

Afterwards we headed over to the farm to check out the animals, love this pig, and pick up some apple cider donuts.

Now that I’ve got 30+ apples on my hand, I’ve got to take full advantage of them.  I’ll make the Carrot Apple Ginger Soup this week for sure.    Lots of pies in my future too.   I made this ridiculously easy Apple Crumb Pie last night.   It’s vegan too.

Now I just need 10 more apple recipes to get through my crisper of apples.   Got a good one?  Doesn’t need to be vegan, I’ll make anything!

Trackbacks

  1. […] still rolling in apples from our Indian Ladder expedition a few weeks ago, but I’ve got big plans for them this weekend.  I’ll explain in a […]

Leave a Reply

