comfort food

We all have that one go-to meal that we know by heart, that’s always satisfying and great no matter what season it is.   I had this vision of creating an over the top roasted edamame and chickpea gourd with butternut squash and flashed swiss chard to celebrate the first day off fall, and then I realized I didn’t need all that.  I just wanted a burger and fries, my way.   Portobello mushroom burgers with sweet potato fries and fresh kale.   Housed that meal.    I used this recipe with a few modifications.  I added in about 1/2 tablespoon of agave to the balsamic vinegar to make it a bit sweeter on the mushroom.   For the fries I added a shake of cinnamon powder and 3 shakes of chilli powder.

Image I had all this leftover kale so I decided to give kale chips a shot using the below recipe.   I know kale needs to be super dry before trying this recipe so I actually gave my kale a blow dry, no really.   I also waited until after the kale was done baking to add the salt.

Crispy Kale Chips

Ingredients

  • 1 bushel of kale (fresh, not pre-cut)
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • ½ tsp salt

Steps

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Rinse and dry the kale well
  • Rip up the kale into bite-size pieces
  • In a large bowl, massage the olive oil and salt into the kale – you may want to add or use less salt depending on your taste
  • Spread the kale on a baking sheet so that none of the pieces are on top of each other.  Bake for 18 minutes.So tasty!   I’ll never go back to bagged potato chips

    Image

    Hope your Sunday includes some baking!   I’m hoping to get to another apple pie and banana bread today.  Lofty goals for a lady who has to put all the clothes she ripped out of her closet back in today in some organized fashion.

Comments

  1. You are my inhalation , I have few blogs and rarely run out from to brand.

Trackbacks

  1. […]  I’m thinking I might even be able to fool the kid with them.   I basically made the same meal I made last week because I love sweet potato fries and kale, but used the agave/balsamic glaze as dipping […]

Leave a Reply

