eats

You know when you have a mystery illness and you can’t eat anything except smoothies and soup, isn’t that the worst?   Yea, that’s what I’ve been rolling through for the last few weeks…good times.  While I haven’t been able to eat much I’m still trying to, it’s amazing that when you can’t eat things how much you want to.   Hey at least I’ve been inspired to try some new recipes (none of them vegan.)

First up was chicken chili.  Saturday all I wanted was to smell chili cooking in the house.   At the very least I could turn it into soup later.   I found this amazing chicken chili recipe via Annie’s Eats.   The only modification I made was I cooked up a few slices of maple bacon and threw ’em in.  Not bad…I added some watered down tomato soup to it later to turn it into soup.  Delish.

Tonight I decided to try out a pin I came across for Chicken Parm Meatballs.  While I didn’t get to try ’em they seemed to go over well.  One modification I made to this recipe was to add about a tablespoon of fresh chopped basil.   I served it up with lemon sauteed spinach.

Here’s hoping I can get off my soup and smoothie mix soon.  I will say I’ve created some incredibly satisfying smoothies though.

Banana Mango Spinach Smoothie

1/2 frozen frozen banana

1 handful of baby spinach

1/2 cup of frozen mangoes

1/2 cup of almond milk (although my crappy blender sometimes forces me to add a little more)

Blend and enjoy!  I’ve also tried just about ever variation of Pumpkin Spice Smoothies, still searching for the perfect one but I’m sure I’ll find it soon.  Happy eating!

 

Trackbacks

  1. […] year and then suddenly switching it up to GAME ON, MEAT AND DAIRY’S HERE-esque recipes.   My appetite hasn’t fully returned, but what makes me really happy is making meals people enjoy.    I […]

Leave a Reply

