pin it, do it – honeycrisp apple sangria

I love fall, I love everything about it.  Colder weather.  Changing leaves.   Sweaters.  Apples.   I’m in.

Last month I mentioned my desire to get in on this Honeycrisp Apple Sangria pin I spotted over the summer:

Looks amazing right?   The ingredients weren’t too crazy, so I thought I’d give it a whirl.

2 honeycrisp apples
One 750-milliliter bottle un-oaked Chardonnay
1/2 cup peach schnapps
1/4 cup orange blossom honey
2 oranges- 1 quartered
1 lemon – quartered
1 lime – quartered
2 cinnamon sticks
2 quarter-size slices of fresh ginger
3 whole cloves
2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
Ice
Club soda

The recipe is really easy, you just need to give it time.   Here’s how mine came out:

Obviously my sugar rimming skills need some work.

It was a really fun fall drink.   A few things.

The recipe says it will yield 5-6 servings….I got 2.  I let the liquid soak in the fruit for about 8 hours, I think all the apples and the cinnamon sticks must have acted like a sponge.

If you’re looking for a stronger apple flavor and aren’t a big fan of an apple citrus mix I would recommend halving the amount of citrus it soaks in.

The peach schnapps taste is very powerful, if you don’t like it, use less.

I’ll give this drink a try again before Christmas rolls in, I’ll be sure to work on my sugar rimming skills before the next batch, the pics may not look pretty, but it tasted delicious!

Leave a Reply

