fancy pants pizza

Pizza rules.   The end.

Just kidding, but pizza does rule.   I don’t get to eat it often but I dream about it a lot.   I was craving pizza on Friday, but not just any pizza, fancy pizza.   Like the champagne of pizza.   What’s a fancy pizza?   Well my fancy pizza involves fresh figs, goat cheese, caramelized onions and rosemary.   Win.

I followed this awesome recipe, but sans cranberries.

Ingredients

1 lb prepared pizza dough, room temperature (I used Pizza Dough Bread Machine for one pie)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 small sweet onion, sliced
4 -6 fresh figs, cut in half
5 ounces goat cheese (if you can get goat cheese with cranberries it fabulous)
1 teaspoon chopped fresh rosemary
1/2 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded
olive oil
semolina

Directions:In a pan saute onions in oil till a caramel color, set aside to cool completely.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Roll out dough on a floured surface to 1 inch thick. You can make it round or square all a matter of taste.

Place on a pan that is dusted with semolina.

Spread a thin coat of olive oil on dough.

Arrange goat cheese, figs cut side up, cooled onions around on crust.

Top with mozzarella cheese and sprinkle with rosemary.

Place in oven and bake for 15-20 minutes.

I’m not a pizza making expert, so obviously I need to work on my topping to crust ratio.

Before:

After:

When I was thinking about the recipe I kept imagining making the pizza with arugula, so glad I didn’t.  The rosemary was perfection, arugula was a nice little side.    Awesome EASY recipe to try, just make sure you’re better at your topping to crust ratio!

Comments

  1. Roller Jackie says:

    I made one just like this a few weeks ago but ours had spinach and no rosemary.

  2. I’m still learning from you, as I’m improving myself. I absolutely liked reading everything that is written on your site.Keep the aarticles coming. I enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

