move over?

Has anyone else noticed the new DOT signs on I-90 (or other highways) stating something like “NEW LAW, MOVE OVER FOR EMERGENCY VEHICLES?”   Saw one yesterday and figured it wasn’t referring to the law we all know, when you see flashing lights get out of the way.   Decided to do a little googling this morning and found this excerpt from the Scarsdale Patch:

“…Move Over” law, which requires drivers to change lanes when approaching a police car or other emergency vehicle on any state road.”

I guess I haven’t been as “news-aware” as I should be, this was the first I’d heard of the law.   Be sure to move over or slow down to at least 15mph below the speed limit for the safety of emergency responders or be prepared to get a $275 fine and 2 points on your license.

Glad I saw that sign!

Leave a comment