Thacher Park Pool

We had a fantastic day at Thacher Park over the weekend.  Perhaps tomorrow I’ll post the pics of the ice cave we ran into on the Indian Ladder Trail…it was 80 + degrees on the day we saw it…bizarre and beautiful.

Thacher Park is full of surprises, there’s just so much to do.  Playgrounds, picnic areas, opens spaces, great trails and at one time a pool.    I don’t know the full history of the Thacher Park pool, a quick google search tells me it opened in 1953 and finally shut down in 2005.   There have been rumors of reopening the pool here and there, but with the recession and the state of the economy in New York, I’m sure it will be some time before we see an improved Thacher Park pool.

Sadly, this is the state that I found the old pool in this weekend.   The fences put up had been torn down…

View from what was the shallow end…the pool house used to be in the background:

img00192

Another view of the shallow end:

img00194

Side of the pool:

img00195

Deep end…remember the HUGE diving board?

img00193

I feel like there was a snack bar here too, and of course the tiny diving boards:

img00201

 

Many thanks to All Over Albany for sending some link love my way via the neighborhood.   The Thacher Park Pool is quite quite sad.  I know it will not open this summer, but perhaps there could be just a little bit of money found to put the fences back up:

img00204

and also cover this…I’m not even sure on what is is….well?  Whatever it is, it’s a hazard for a little one.  I’ve been trying to figure out the best point of contact for Thacher Park to let them know…

img00198

Leave a comment